A Season in the Show

Every writer needs to read this ASAP. You never know where your career is going, so just keep on it. Something will happen.

Whatever

This last weekend I had an enjoyable time at the Confusion convention, which is no surprise, as I usually do — it’s one of the reasons I’ve gone back to it now for nine years running. I mostly hung out in the bar and talked to writers, doing the usual combination of business talk and complete idiocy, as writers generally do at conventions when they chat with each other.

One evening I talked to a couple of different authors about writing careers and the ups and downs careers have, and how from time to time we’re all filled with frustration with them, especially during a downturn. We all want to be on award lists; we all want to have bestsellers. If those things don’t happen we can wonder if what we’re doing matters much at all. As we were talking about it I came up with a metaphor which I…

View original post 857 more words

One response to “A Season in the Show

  1. Hi, I do think this is a great site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to revisit once again
    since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change,
    may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

Leave a Reply

